Club History


Strong commitments retained J1 and pledge for revival

Following the choice of Kobe as one of the venues for the 2002 FIFA World Cup Korea-Japan, an improved Japanese-Korean relationship was encouraged at Vissel Kobe.
Kim Do-Hoon, also known as the "Korean Bomber", joined the squad and was paired up with Akihiro Nagashima to add a lethal dimension up front.
Kim scored two goals on his spectacular debut.
Unfortunately, at one point in the season, Vissel went through a spell of 16 straight defeats and was on the brink of relegation to J2 in the new set up of the J. League, to be introduced the following season.
But, thanks to the support of the fans, and the efforts of the players, the club rallied with some late season wins and successfully retained its Division One place.
Successive wins in the relegation play-offs against Consadole Sapporo cemented a place in J1 for 1999, but the devastating run of 16 defeats led to the resignation of Benito Floro Sanz, the ex-Real Madrid manager.


  • 15 Jan
    Spanish manager, Benito Floro Sanz, joins
  • 21 Mar
    1998 J.League kicks off (18 teams)
  • 8 Aug
    Vissel finish 17th in 1st stage (3 wins, 14 losses)
  • 13 Jul
    Vissel Kobe Supporters' Club established
  • 1 Oct
    Youth coach Harumi Kohri becomes team manager
  • 14 Nov
    Vissel finish 14th in 2nd stage
  • 22 Nov
    Beat Consadole Sapporo 2-1 (home match) in J1 qualifier
  • 26 Nov
    Beat Consadole Sapporo 2-0 (away match). Retain J1 place

Season Statistics

  • J.League
    17th (9 wins, 25 losses / Pts. 25 GF 45 GA 89)
  • Top Scorer Of The Team
    Kim Do-Hoon 17 goals
  • League Cup
    3rd in group league, not qualifying for the tournament
  • The 77th Emperor's Cup
    Reach 3rd round

The Squad


  • Benito Floro Sanz(ESP)


  • Ryuji Ishizue
  • Masamitsu Kanemoto
  • Takaya Nakamura
  • Nobuhiro Maeda


  • Naoki Naito
  • Megumu Yoshida
  • Budimir Vujacic(YUG)
  • Albert TOMAS Sobrepera(ESP)
  • Masahiro Wada
  • PARK Song-gi(PRK)
  • Masakazu Koda
  • Keiji Kaimoto
  • Ryuji Ishikawa
  • Masahiro Nakanishi


  • Ryuji Kubota
  • Yuta Abe
  • Takanori Nunobe
  • Shigetoshi Hasebe
  • Kazuyoshi Mikami
  • Koji Yoshimura
  • Koji Okamoto
  • Takuya Suzumura
  • Yusuke Sato
  • Naoto Matsuo
  • Matthew James Bingley(AUS)
  • Ha Seok-Ju(KOR)
  • Kentaro Hayashi


  • Kim Do-Hoon(KOR)
  • Takuya Jinno
  • Akihiro Nagashima
  • Tomoji Eguchi
  • Mitsutoshi Watada
  • Jun Iwashita
  • Michael Yano
  • Youichi Yoda
  • Masato Tachibana

  • 楽天カード(株)
  • 楽天メディカル